Sunday, April 26, 2009


At the end of the school year it is award time for the newspapers. I am not an award chaser nor do i think that it what we (journalists) should be striving for. We should give it 100% all the time and if you end up with one then great. Last weekend was the Missouri College Media Association convention in St. Louis.

This is an exert from a note that the newspaper adviser, T.R. Hanrahan, wrote summing it all up.

The Chart staff acquitted itself very well at this year's Missouri College Media Association convention in ways tangible and intangible.
The Chart brought home 19 awards including first-place honors in investigative reporting, editorial cartooning, editorial/oped section, feature page and multimedia.

Here are the details:
Sweepstakes (most awards/highest placing in categories}: Third place, Division II
Best Overall Newspaper (Division II): Third place

First Place:
Brennan Stebbins, Investigative Reporting
Jessica Schriendl, Editorial cartooning and editorial/oped section
Colby Williams, feature page
Colby Williams and Glenn Landberg, multimedia

Second Place:
Jessica Schriendl: regular column
Glenn Landberg: feature photography
The Chart Staff: page one design

Third Place:
The Chart: editorial writing
Becky Husky: feature writing
Rita Forbes: investigative reporting
Jessica Schriendl: regular column
Meagan Morrison: sports page

Honorable Mention:
Brennan Stebbins: sports writing
Alexandra Nicolas and Meagan Morrison: In-depth reporting
Andrew Ford and Glenn Landberg: story illustration
Meagan Morrison: sports page

I would like to say nice work to everyone. It takes the whole staff to even make it possible. So a big thank you is due to everyone on staff. Thanks.

Here is the stuff of mine that made the list:


Feature Photography (I have no clue how this took 2nd) This might be one of my worst photos all year.

Another big post to come in a day or so.


No comments: